

Statement

Australian technology and community leaders join auDA Advisory Committees

16 December 2021

auDA is pleased to announce new appointments to its General Advisory Standing Committee (GASC) and Technical Advisory Standing Committee (TASC).

The Committees provide expert advice to the auDA Board on general and technical matters related to .au domain administration, and represent diverse perspectives from Australia's multi-stakeholder community.

The successful applicants have extensive experience in consumer advocacy, governance, academia and the internet, telecommunications and technology sectors and were appointed following a comprehensive selection and recruitment process.

auDA Chair Alan Cameron AO said, "I thank all applicants and congratulate the new appointees to our General and Technical Advisory Standing Committees. Their contributions will enrich the work of the auDA Board and support us to administer a trusted .au for the benefit of all Australians.

"I also want to extend my thanks to the outgoing Committee members for their contributions to and support of auDA's work."

Committee members appointed to the GASC are:

- Keith Besgrove (Chair)
- Ajoy Ghosh
- Sae Ra Germaine
- Caroline Greenway
- Dr Paul Harrison
- Susan Kelso
- Cleo Kerama
- Dr Peter Langkamp
- Nadia Moffatt OAM
- Andrew Williams.

Committee members appointed to the TASC are:



- Nigel Phair (Chair)
- Paul Day
- Dr Lisa Dethridge
- Patrick Fair
- Jonathan Gleeson
- Geoffrey Huston AM
- Kim Lowton
- Jo O'Brien
- Anuja Rao
- Martin Schlatter.

The GASC and TASC members will commence on 1 January 2022. To ensure Committee continuity, members have been appointed for varying terms of one, two or three years. Members can be appointed for a maximum of two terms.

In June 2021, new Charters for the <u>GASC</u> and <u>TASC</u> were approved by the Board, to guide their future activity. Appointment to the Committees was conducted in accordance with the Charters.

ENDS

Notes:

The <u>GASC</u> provides advice to the auDA Board on general matters related to the .au domain and supports auDA in multi-stakeholder engagement.

The <u>TASC</u> provides advice to the Board on technical matters related to the .au domain and helps identify strategic initiatives that support Internet security and digital risk management.

Committee member	Current positions	Committee terms
GASC		
Keith Besgrove (Chair)	 Board Member, Australian Communications Consumer Action Network Member, Australian Computer Society's Profession Advice Board Consultant/Chair Global Access Partners and Dragon Claw 	3 years

Biographical information and Committee terms for the appointees are provided below.



Ajoy Ghosh	 Director and On-Demand Chief Information Security Officer, Alcheme Pty Ltd Advisory Body Member, Defence Employer Partner Network Non-Executive Director, Amnesty International Australia Sessional Lecturer, UNSW Computer Science & Engineering/SECedu; and UNSW Cyber/Australian Defence Force Academy 	2 years
Sae Ra Germaine	 Manager, Member Services & Academic Services, Caval Ltd President, Linux Australia Vice President, VALA Vice-Chair (Infrastructure), Internet Australia 	1 year
Caroline Greenway	 Director, Caroline Greenway Consulting Chair, Asia Pacific Telecommunity Preparatory Process for the ITU Plenipotentiary Conference 2022 Independent Expert Member, National Information and Communications Technology Authority (NICTA) 	2 years
Dr Paul Harrison	 Unit Chair/Senior Lecturer, Department of Marketing, Deakin Business School Member, Advisory Board, Consumer Affairs Victoria Non-Executive Director, Telecommunications Industry Ombudsman (TIO) Deputy Director of the MBA Program at Deakin Business School 	3 years
Susan Kelso	 Customer experience and digital experience Formerly Executive Director - Chief Customer Experience Officer, PTV/Department of Transport Victoria and Executive Member, PTV Board 	3 years



Cleo Kerama	 Director, Privacy and Information Access, Department of Transport Victoria 	2 years
Dr Peter Langkamp	 Non-Executive Director, ermha365 Non-Executive Director, genU Non-Executive Director, The Disability Trust Industry Specialist, Accenture 	1 year
Nadia Moffatt OAM	 Expert Disability Advisor to the Board, Zenitas Healthcare Member, Patient Advisory Group, Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care Independent Committee Member, SA Power Networks Community Reference Group Non-Executive Director and committee member, Australian Communications Consumer Action Network Member Consumer Council, The Stroke Foundation Non-Executive Director and Chair of Governance Sub-Committee, Brain Injury South Australia 	3 years
Andrew Williams	 Acting Chief Executive Officer, Australian Communications Consumer Action Network 	1 year
TASC		
Nigel Phair (Chair)	 Executive Director, UNSW Canberra Cyber Consultant, Asian Development Bank Non-Executive Director and Chair, Risk and Audit Committee, LifeSherpa Disciplinary Tribunal Member, Chartered Accountants – Australia and New Zealand Non-Executive Director, RedR Australia 	3 years



	 Non-Executive Deputy Chair, Treasurer and Chair, Risk & Audit Committee, Molonglo Financial Services Ltd 	
Paul Day	Chief Security Officer, MLC Life Insurance	2 years
Dr Lisa Dethridge	 Senior Research Fellow, RMIT Associate Researcher, OpenAl Board Member, Open Channel Studios Melbourne Board Member, Melbourne Books Peer of The Australian Council for the Arts Member of Technical Advisory Committee for Information Technology SAE, Navitas 	3 years
Patrick Fair	 Director and Principal Lawyer, Patrick Fair Associates Adjunct Professor, Deakin University, School of IT Chair, Communications Security Reference Panel, Communications Alliance 	2 years
Jonathan Gleeson	 General Manager, Technology & Operations, Vocus Group 	1 year
Geoffrey Huston AM	 Chief Scientist, Asia Pacific Network Information Centre Honorary Industry/Professional Fellow in the Faculty of Engineering and Information Technology at the University of Technology Sydney 	2 years
Kim Lowton	Head of Software & Product Operations, Webcentral Group	2 years
Jo O'Brien	 Chief Executive Officer and Executive Director, Tramada Systems Pty Ltd Australian Resident Director/General Manager Australia, Zuji Pty Ltd Executive Director/Board Member, Tramada Systems Pty Ltd 	2 years



Anuja Rao	 Managing Director, Select 3D Member of Dean's Advisory Council, Faculty of Engineering, Monash University Company Director, Let Loose Holdings Company Director, Monash 3170 Super 	3 years
Martin Schlatter	Chief Operating Officer, Salt Group	1 year

For further information:

Rebecca Papillo, Communications Manager M. 0428 168 540 / E. <u>rebecca.papillo@auda.org.au</u>

About auDA:

.au Domain Administration Limited (auDA) is a not-for-profit organisation that works with a range of stakeholders including industry, government and the Australian and International community to develop the rules for and administer the .au country code Top Level Domain (ccTLD). The .au ccTLD is a key part of Australia's digital infrastructure, and auDA is endorsed by the Australian Government, and has an agreement with the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN), to ensure that the .au domain namespace is a secure, reliable and trusted Australian public asset for all Internet users.